The New Disney Princess Book Tag

Thanks to much to Laura @ thebookcorps for tagging me in this. Definitely go follow her if you haven’t already!

The Rules
  • Mention where you saw the tag/thank whoever tagged you because that’s always good fun
  • Tag Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews and Zuky @ BookBum so they can check out the wonderful Princess fun throughout the blog world
  • Play a game of tag at the end!

Snow White – This book (like the movie) started it all

Favourite debut book from an author

This one may be a little bit cheating since the author had co-authored before this series, but I chose Michael Grants book Gone – which was the first he wrote solo.

I read these when they first came out, so I wasn’t that old but they hold a special place in my heart because they got me back into reading in a big way and I still really do love this series. Since reading this, I’ve gone on to read every Michael Grant book and I’ve really enjoyed most of them. It’s been a big influencer on my reading life so it really does deserve a mention.

 

 

Cinderella – A diamond in the rough

Just like Cinderella, you didn’t expect much out of this character in the beginning, but they turned out to be a total gem

Aurora – Sleeping Beauty

A book that made you sleepy or couldn’t hold your attention

Unpopular opinion time but for this one I’m choosing All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I found this book soo boring I really didn’t understand the hype at all. I remember forcing myself to listen to it during study breaks at school and falling asleep with it on anyway. I never finished it and I’ve never felt an urge to go back either (especially since it’s super problematic anyway).

 

 

Ariel – Under the Sea

A book with a water/ocean setting

Cackles because I’m kind of cheating AGAIN (sorry I can’t help it) But I immediately thought of Lady Midnight/Lord of Shadows when I got to this one. THE COVERS ARE LITERALLY CHARACTERS IN WATER GIVE ME A BREAK. Anyway, since it’s set on the beach and water plays into the plot I’m going with it. I love this series so much and I’m dying to read the third one. Lord of Shadows ruined me! But I love the setting right next to the beach so much and the water inspired covers are to die for.

 

Belle – Beauty and the Books

A book where the character is a bookworm

I was tied for this one, I thought of Tessa from The Infernal Devices (and Will because he’s a bookworm too!) first, and man they massive count because they even named their kids after Charles Dickens characters, but instead I’m choosing Charlie from Jasper Jones.

The reason I chose Charlie instead is because I loved that he was a bookworm and how him loving books led to him getting closer to his crush, who also loved books! But I also think it was important how much literature meant to him as a way of understanding and acknowledging his abusive mother and his situation. It really helped him to develop as a character and see the world from many perspectives and I think thats something many actual real life bookworms can relate to so thats why I had to go with Charlie for this one

Jasmine – The Thief and the Princess

Name a book with an unlikely love story (either in terms of romance or a book you didn’t expect to love so much)

It is a Fact I cannot do any tag without mentioning the Foxhole Court so here it comes. For this one I’m choosing Andrew and Neil from the Foxhole Court who fit both descriptors. I had heard a lot of good things about tfc, but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I do. As in, it’s ruined my life I love it that much.

Andrew and Neil start off kinda hating and not understanding eachother and being very mistrustful but they end up growing together against the odds and I love their relationship and this entire trilogy so much.

 

Pocahontas – Real Life Princess

Name a book based on a real life person you have read/want to read

I’ve been interested in reading Yeonmi Park’s story about how she defected from North Korea ever since I saw that really popular video going around in which she speaks about it. I’ve heard it’s very sad though and a bit much so I’m waiting for me to be in the right mood to read it. I also wanted to read Escape from Camp 14 which is also about a North Korean defector and The Children’s House of Belsen which is about a woman who grew up in a concentration camp in Amsterdam.

 

 

Mulan – The Princess that Saved Her Country

The fiercest heroine you know

She’s not exactly a heroine .. but Adelina Amoteru from The Young Elites is one of the most badass and fierce females in YA ever. She pretty much sets herself a goal to take over the entire world and she gets pretty damn close.

I love her character and how powerful she is, and even though she’s not exactly a hero and a lot of people hated her she’s still really fierce and could kick any persons ass

 

Tiana – The Princess with the Coolest and Most Diverse Crew

Name a diverse book, whether it is a diverse set of characters or just diverse in general

For this one I chose Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde. It has a very diverse cast in terms of representation – the main character Charlie is a bisexual Chinese-Australian, her best friend Taylor is fat and neuro-diverse and her other best friend Jamie is Latinx. Charlie falls for a girl, Alyssa, who’s black and interested in STEM which is also kind of diverse.   It has lots of representations of sexuality and characters on the ace spectrum. It is also diverse in that its characters are Australian (rare!) and that the setting is a convention.

Rapunzel – Let Your Long Hair Down

The longest book you’ve ever read

I actually was surprised this was the longest book I’ve read – but it’s A Clash of Kings at 911 pages. I thought I’d read books over 1000 pages long but turns out I haven’t

 

 

 

Merida – I determine my own fate

A story with no love interest/story

This is one I read recently, but Moroda by L.L McNeil had an ensemble cast with no romance! I actually really liked this, because I hate when romance plots kind of hijack the story so it was refreshing to read some fantasy without romance

 

 

 

Anna and Elsa – Frozen Hearts

A book in a winter/cold setting

OKAY I HAVEN’T READ THIS YET BUT IM GOING TO SOON. It’s historical fiction set during the siege at Leningrad which is, definitely a cold time to be living. It’s about scientists during the siege who stored up plant seeds so they could grow plants to survive on, I’ve heard very mixed reviews but I really would like to read it and see what I think of it.

 

 

 

Moana – How Far I’ll Go

A character that goes on a journey

This is also a recent read, but Monty from The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue literally goes on a journey, but also goes on a journey of growth too. It’s about a European tour in the 18th Century, but Monty learns a lot about privilege and grows so much as a character in one book.

 

 

 

I tag:

thanks for reading, I’m gonna tag a few people but of course no pressure to complete it if you don’t want to! And if you haven’t been tagged but want to do it anyway, I tag you as well hehe.

Elise @ The Bookish Actress
Lacy @a ravenclaw library
Lauren @ My Paper Infinity
Destiny @Howling Libraries

thanks for reading everyone ! 

 

3 thoughts on “The New Disney Princess Book Tag

Leave a Reply

