highest rated books on my tbr

Hi all !  I’m here today to do a post I’ve seen around quite a bit lately. This post is about the highest rated books on my TBR! Essentially, I went to Goodreads and sorted by average ranking to see which books on my TBR were the best rated.

I’ve also done a similar post about the most popular books on my TBR if you’d like to check that one out too.

As a note, I decided to exclude books with only a handful of ratings because with averages and all it doesn’t really seem fair to count books with like 10 ratings as the same as ones with hundreds of thousands.

Untitled-1

1

1: Know My Name: A Memoir by Chanel Miller (4.74): I’m not surprised to see this book is the highest rated on my TBR. It’s such a personal memoir and I can’t see many people in good conscience actually rating it badly. I need to pick this up soon.

2: Heartstopper Volume Two by Alice Oseman (4.65): This graphic novel series, and Alice Oseman in general, is so popular I wasn’t surprised to see it so high up. I liked Volume One a lot and have been meaning to catch up.

3: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (4.57) This is one of those books I feel like everyone one has read and rated five stars and claimed it changed their life. World War Two lit isn’t my favourite but I feel like this is almost required reading

4: A Storm of Swords: Blood and Gold by George R.R Martin (4.55) ALL the Game of Thrones books are so popular but I know A Storm of Swords is particularly well-loved. I’ve read part one and liked it a lot so I expect part two is just as good

5: Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche (4.53)   Adiche is so well known for her feminist works and this book is her follow-up to her viral speech about feminism, and probably her most popular and well-known work. I’ve seen the speech but have been meaning to get to this.

2

6: Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare (4.53)   Cassandra Clare is so well-loved and I think people were ready to give this series five stars years before it released purely because of the characters it follows. I wasn’t sure if I would read this but the incredible reviews convinced me to put it back on my TBR

7: In Order to Live: A North Korean Girls Journey to Freedom by Yeonmi Park (4.48) I feel like this is one of those foundational memoirs almost everyone has read, even people who don’t read a lot or don’t read a lot of memoirs. It’s supposed to be quite powerful so its high rating doesn’t shock me

8: Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators by Ronan Farrow This is another one of those non-fiction books I feel is a must-read at this point because it’s had such an incredible impact. This is Ronan Farrow’s expose on predators in Hollywood, especially Harvey Weinstein, and it’s one I definitely hope to read this year.

9: White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard to Talk to White People About Racism by Robin DiAngelo (4.49): I’m pretty sure this is one of the books Barack Obama shouted out in his favourites list for the year so I’m not surprised it’s surged in popularity recently. I enjoy social justice fiction and have read a few like this that I enjoyed so I’m hoping I like this one too.

10: Kings Rising by C.S Pacat (4.46) I know a lot of people love the ending of this series so once again, I am not surprised to see it here. I still need to read this and finish off the series but I’m not convinced I will love it as much as everyone else just because I’ve been pretty ‘meh’ on this whole series. But I am looking forward to finishing it and ticking it off the list.

8 Comments

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve been meaning to read The Nightingale for SO long! And A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions is fantastic. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookcorps says:

    I’ve been wanting to do a post like this for ages! And then read the books too. Definitely agree on everyone ready to give Chain of Gold 5 stars simply because of the characters and because of Cassie. I enjoyed the book but gave it 4 stars. I want to read Know My Name at some point but I know its going to devastate me 😭
    KINGS RISING … yes 😍 I know you’re probably not going to like it haha but keen to hear your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jamishelves says:

      Yeah like I feel it’s so unsurprising chain of gold is there I feel like it’ll prob be a four for me but we will see! I may love Kings Rising idk!! Honestly I just struggle with the writing style of the series more than anything

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Naty says:

    Know My Name is truly amazing. I loved The Nightingale but it was years ago – I think reviewers nowadays are a little less impressed by it! Hope you love both 🙂

    Like

    1. jamishelves says:

      Yeah I’ve recently seen probably the first kinda negative reviews of it? But I’m hoping I still like it. I’m sure I’ll love Know My Name

      Like

  4. bibliojessi says:

    The nightingale has been on my the first like 3 years now… I think I’m just intimidated. 😂

    Like

    1. jamishelves says:

      Same jfjdjdj like I don’t mind historical fiction but it seems long and depressing

      Like

  5. Pingback: JAMISHELVES

Leave a Comment