Queer labels in books: how I think they should be handled

So the use of labels for members of the lgbtqiap+ community in books has been discussed a lot in the book community. It’s a really hard topic to talk about – because it can so easily be hurtful, very personal and making general statements about how rep should be handled can be excluding. This discussion was prompted in part by Silvia’s discussion post. I wanted to talk about the ways in which I think labels should be handled, and why I think books can include characters that don’t use labels without erasing labels as a concept or option.

Untitled-1

Labels in books can be a very hard thing. The fact is, not everyone feels they fit into a label, or feels they are comfortable choosing one yet. Some people need time to find the right one, some people don’t like the idea of labels and don’t ever want one – there are so so many reasons why people haven’t chosen a label or never will and that is all totally valid.

And it’s valid in books too – I think we really do need more books in which a character settles for having no label, and I think that people really need to respect the books that do that.

But for me there is a difference between a book not labelling characters, and a book ignoring that labels exist at all. I often find in books characters will “explore their sexuality” without ever having an any thoughts or monologue about exploring their sexuality, and THAT feels fake to me. I spent many many years with no label – I only chose one last year, but having no label came, at least for me, with a thought process about labels, and if I wanted one. What I mean is, I knew I liked girls too, and I thought about this a lot, both before and after I was aware the term bisexual existed. For me bad representation is not failing to label a character, it’s failing to allow any prospect within any part of your story that a character COULD have a label.

So here’s what I think about labels in books: I think not having them is necessary, characters with no labels represent a range of people who need to be represented.

But characters in books can have no label whilst also acknowledging they exist. It doesn’t even need to be the character themselves – the narrative should acknowledge they exist. For example – Adam in the Raven Cycle never labels himself – but on top of that the narrative itself does not acknowledge the existence of labels, especially not ones like bisexual or pansexual. I personally think representation with no labels is good not when a character has no label by default, but when they decide they’re more comfortable without one.

You know the writing technique that goes around – “if you’re going to write a marginalised character that fits a stereotype, you should write one more of the same marginalisation that does not”. The idea being, that the two cancel out each other the readers recognise that marginalisation can be both things.

I think a similar approach should be taken with labels. If a character has no label, that’s totally fine. But the book should incorporate it in some other way: whether that’s another character talking labels, labels up on the news/internet/television, or even a character considering a label and going “hm, that isn’t for me”. A great example for label-less representation that doesn’t feel like erasure, for me, is Aled in Radio Silence. Aled doesn’t use a label – he’s friends with people who are, he talks about them, at one point he even says to his friend “hey, I guess what most people would call me is demisexual, because that’s the closest label to how I feel that I’ve seen, but I prefer to use no label”. A similar situation happens with Mark in The Dark Artifices, he acknowledges that bisexual is a term that could describe him, but also that he doesn’t use it for himself. And for me, that’s way better representation than characters who have no label by default, because the narrative doesn’t ever engage with labels as a concept, like Adam’s representation in The Raven Cycle.

Characters can be label-less, and should be label-less, and we need more of them.  But I don’t think their sexuality should be placed upon a blank slate. Whether or not you use a label, I think a universal experience is that everyone thinks about their sexuality, considers the labels we do see bandied about, and just has some general thought process about being lgbtqiap+. The crux of this discussion, I think, is this: characters without labels are good, but characters who have no label, because they have no interaction with the queer community, or engage in any queer dialogue or inner thought process are not great representation, and again, this is coming from someone who only chose a label last year.

Untitled-1

This is getting a little rambly, but I hope this makes sense. I think labels are a really important thing, both if you do or do not use one, but I also think there’s ways writing them can be good and bad.

Also please note this is in no way an attack of Silvia’s post, it’s just an extension of it, her post just sparked me into thinking about all this.

I’d love to hear everyone’s thoughts below. I know this is a really tentative topic but feel free to let me know what you think.

Until next time!

xo jamieson

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Emma says:

    I LOVE this post! I feel the same way, especially about the “fakeness” of books with queer main characters who seem to go about their lives without the concept of labeling ever even crossing their mind. Especially in books with a contemporary setting like The Raven Cycle, it feels so unrealistic? I also took a while to decide on a label, but even back in the beginning when I had no idea if or when I’d find one, labeling was still a concept on my radar that I thought about fairly often.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jamishelves says:

      Yeah thats pretty much what I think too. For me the thought process behind it all is more important to see in a book then like, the labels themselves?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Emma says:

        agreed! regardless of how the character uses labels, I would love to see more books where the internal process is represented. obviously it’s such a personal thing so it’ll be different for everyone, but at least acknowledging the concept in some capacity is really important IMO

        Like

  2. EIise @thebookishactress says:

    Ooooh, this is SUCH a good post. Honestly, just a label being mentioned anytime in the book is enough for me most of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jamishelves says:

      Honestly same! I just feel like there needs to be SOME sort of recognition? Also I’m glad you like this post, I was nervous putting it out

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for writing this post Jamieson, I really appreciate it and I agree with you. It’s only due to my personal history and coming out (mainly to myself) story that I’m more than okay with reading books that don’t remind me that I should be having my internal monologue about my own label – mainly because I do that too often with no result whatsoever, and because I’m aware I only do that because it’s kind of what society expects of me (of us).
    I realize I’m in a minority here and everyone’s personal history affects the way they think about this topic. As I said in my post it’s very easy to do something wrong with dealing with this and where you might see borderline bi-erasure I might see myself fully represented for the first time (using “me” and “you” just as examples here) and it doesn’t mean that one of us is more right or more wrong than the other.
    I feel there are also differences to be pointed out when talking about YA and Adult fiction. YA should definitely be more careful and at the very least offer labels as an option, but I feel like Adult can do things slightly differently within a reasonable range (to me the way it was done in LLA was perfect because Theo is an adult and I could completely identify with him – but that probably would take a kind of emotional maturity that wouldn’t be realistic for a YA protagonist).
    Anyway, thanks for linking to my post and for expanding on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jamishelves says:

      Hey, I’m glad you liked this post. I definitely think a lot of it can come down to your own experiences which is why this is more *my* idea of how I like things in books.

      I definitely can see what you mean about enjoying books where there is no monologue, that’s why I like fantasy with queer characters because it feels like I can enjoy the characters and not be annoyed there’s no internal thoughts.

      I definitely think YA and adult can handle it differently though! I haven’t read enough adult queer books to really judge what they’re like compared to YA though.

      Like

Leave a Comment